Ruminations of a Red Dirt Hussy

May 8, 2013

Get a clue–or another blog entry I probably already posted but can’t remember

Filed under: Blogroll — Vadasmaker @ 7:36 pm
Tags: , , ,

Sometimes I despair. I’m beginning to think that if we worked as hard to make money as we do to stay ignorant we’d be rich indeed.

I’m probably preaching to the choir because the only people who read this are people that like me or are like me, but here goes. Do people really not know racism is a bad thing? Seriously? Maybe it’s just that they don’t know the definition of racism. Here it is, courtesy of the American Heritage Dictionary, 5th edition (yes, I do have it, and yes, it does weigh about sixty pounds, but how skinny did you think ten thousand new words would be?):

  1. The belief that race accounts for differences in human character and ability and that a particular race is superior to others.
  2. Discrimination or prejudice based on race.

Seems simple enough to me. No big words. No highfalutin’ concepts. Don’t need a calculator or a map or a translator. So if it’s that simple, and we can see that being a racist is detrimental to our world, why don’t we just freaking stop it? Why do we insist on teaching our children that racism is Biblical, factual, and insurmountable?

You know why? Because every day we hear people like Rush Limbaugh say, “We need segregated buses. This is Obama’s America.” We read about emails sent by people like Carol Carter, State Committeewoman for Hillsborough County, FL: “I’m confused. How can 2,000,000 blacks get into Washington, DC in one day in sub zero temps when 200,000 couldn’t get out of New Orleans in 85 degree temps with four days notice?” I mean, seriously? What kind of insensitive, nasty nonsense is that?

And of course you can’t go wrong talking about racism if you quote good old Newtie, who would have us know that Barack Obama is a “food stamp president,” and that African-Americans should be looking for jobs, not food stamps. Not only that, but he can’t understand why anyone should be offended by such statements. He is, after all, only addressing a painful subject that others won’t. Just ask him.

If all those people, those educated, in the public eye people, think that kind of talk is okay, why shouldn’t we? You know why? BECAUSE WE AREN’T STUPID, THAT’S WHY! If you think it’s perfectly all right, you are seriously disturbed. And no, that isn’t just my opinion. It’s a fact. So stop reading right now and go take care of your sorry-assed problems.

Stuff like that isn’t just moronic. It’s the pathetic attempt of little people to seem like bigger, more important people. And from people like that, our children learn: “My parents said I could date anybody I wanted except Blacks and Jews.” (Said aloud. ALOUD. In a classroom). That’s not the most ridiculous thing students have ever said, bless their hearts, but it’s the one that might make a teacher want to kick that student’s butt up between her shoulder blades so she’d have to take off her stylish beret before she could—well, you know. And not that it happened to me. I’m just saying.

I am so tired of hearing that someone isn’t racist because some of his/her best friends are black. I’m even more tired of the idea that African-Americans are without intelligence, work ethic, or morals. Or that “white” is the default, and anyone who hopes to succeed has to conform to the white ideal.

That’s all ignorant, racist stupidity.

If I don’t know anything else (and I may not), I know these things to be true:

Race has no basis in biology. It is a societal construct—that means we built it, brick by brick, and it can be torn down the same way

  • Race is absolutely political; whatever group is dominant will always make the rules
  • There is no divine or cosmic hierarchy of color with white at the top

If this is news to you, you might want to study up. I wasn’t born knowing them. I read a book. Or 10. Or 100. I can look at objective fact rather than being swayed by whatever anecdotal evidence the world might offer.

Oh, yeah. I know one more thing: just like love, racism is a choice.

You’re welcome.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Female Serial Killers

A psychologist explores the minds of women who murder

