Ruminations of a Red Dirt Hussy

February 14, 2012

End the befuddlement

Things apparently taken for granted in the world befuddle me. Granted, I am easily befuddled, but that’s just one more reason things shouldn’t be so out of whack. So as not to confuse me. It’s very important that I not be confused, and if you don’t believe me, just ask around.

And don’t think I don’t know that this post will get me in hot water. I do, and I guess I’ve reached a point at which you can just boil my butt plumb off. I’d rather be butt-less than brainless. Not that anybody out there is brainless. I’m just saying. Better no butt than no brains. I’m sure that’s written down somewhere besides here. Probably.

So here’s the first thing.

  • Why do so many people hate Planned Parenthood? Is this organization hurting anybody? Does it bother people that through Planned Parenthood men, women, and teens who might otherwise be unable to afford contraception, HIV protection, or sex education can access it? Does anybody really think that because PP exists people are going to run around having sex with random people?

 What kind of nonsense is that? I’ll tell you what kind. The kind that believes Planned Parenthood exists mostly to provide abortion services (which, by the way, aren’t illegal, and, further, a very, very small percentage of clients are there for abortions.) And it’s the same kind of nonsense that insists kids won’t have sex if somebody doesn’t tell them it exists. Please, people. Ever heard of hormones?

Sex is going to happen, whether we talk about it or not. Wouldn’t it be nice if kids didn’t venture into the world without either knowledge or protection?

Which brings me to the next point on my befuddlement chart.

  • Who would start a rumor that Planned Parenthood is the place the Anti-Christ goes for vacation? Okay, that’s not exactly what was said. What was said was nobody needs the information and services Planned Parenthood provides. You know who says that? I’ll tell you who.

Parents of girls who find themselves pregnant at 15, completely clueless as to a) exactly how sex led to this quagmire and b) how they might have prevented it; parents of sons who will spend the next 18 years trying to either a) keep up child support payments or b) be a father–and here’s a surprise–parents of kids who seek abortions because no one has offered them an alternative.

You probably would like me to stop now, but I can’t. Stopping in the middle of saying things I haven’t said since I was shown the door in a couple of churches is kind of like covering your mouth with duct tape when you are nauseated (and yes, that usage is just fine, thank you very much. Look it up). All that sick is still in there, and if that duct tape ever gives—well, you get the picture.

  • What is so wrong with contraception? If a person doesn’t want to do it, he or she doesn’t have to. If a parent hopes to keep a teenager from using it by telling them not to have sex in the first place, good luck. And don’t think for a minute it can never happen to kids raised in a religious tradition. Teen pregnancy isn’t just for heathens.

And it would behoove us all to remember that we are not the only people on the planet, and that we are not the only people who want the best for our children.

Now. I’ve got this one last thing. Not the least, mind you. But I know you’re probably relieved to know it’s the last.

  • Why do men get to decide what women can and cannot do with their bodies? Where is it written that my body is subject to legislation, to jurisprudence, or maybe just a whole lot of juris and very little prudence.I’m referring to the Supreme Court, which, in case you don’t know your supreme courts, is largely made up of men, one of whom said that the government has “a legitimate interest” in abortion because it wants to stop women from making unwise decisions.

Can the man not hear himself?  The very fact that he said it proves that he, for one, cannot prevent anyone from making “unwise decisions.”

Why do we not just quit making stuff up and and arguing about what’s made up and what’s not? And–now, here’s an idea–why don’t we concentrate on doing what too many of us aren’t doing? Like taking care of the children who are already here? Maybe keep them from dying at the hands of their parents? Provide them with a quality education? Healthcare? Is anybody against any of this? I didn’t think so.

So–I will if you will.

3 Comments »

  1. Amen, Sister Johnson! You wrote outloud what I think! I think we should put birth control in the water supply! Let them all (*&^ like rabbits and hurt no one. Then when they are able to support a child – let them pay for a water filter.

    Like

    Comment by lottie — February 15, 2012 @ 9:41 am | Reply

  2. So, Carol, I guess you aren’t impressed with our legislature’s latest grand gesture to control women and “protect the unborn” (we have already established that they aren’t terribly interested in protecting the already born), i.e., the personhood law. I suspect our state legislators are so ignorant of biology that they don’t realize this effectively outlaws oral contraceptives, Emergency Contraception, and the standard approaches used by most fertility clinics. Now, they may just USE the law to prosecute anyone doing or getting an abortion, but it could be used to prosecute anyone using or selling Plan B or regular birth control pills. And it will clearly forbid anyone from donating unused and unwanted excess embryos from fertility treatments for any purpose other than implantation (not a long line of women wanting some other couple’s embryos, though!)Those little buggers will just have to stay in cold storage until they get freezer burn. I assume the State will pay for storing them indefinitely, or for teeny embryo caskets to be respectfuly buried in state-provided embryo cemeteries. The law also guarantees that embryonic stem cell research will not be legal in Oklahoma, which, in turn, guarantees that many of the kinds of biotech companies that our state claims to want to attract won’t be coming here. It’s good to know we have MEN like these protecting US from making “unwise decisions.”

    Like

    Comment by audrey — February 17, 2012 @ 3:06 pm | Reply

  3. My blood is still boiling over that “unwise decisions” comment. It’s my prerogative to make unwise decisions if I want to. Been making them on my own my whole life. 🙂

    Like

    Comment by vadasmaker — February 18, 2012 @ 11:52 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Female Serial Killers

A psychologist explores the minds of women who murder

